Big, big news.

Today I have given my four weeks’ notice. Today, in four weeks, I will be my own boss.

This has been my dream for the last thirteen years – since the age of 14, I knew I wanted to do hair and make-up for shows, shoots, and anything else avant garde (little did I know that this will include weddings!)

My parents have been supporting me in thisever since I told them about my dreams. Even when people had a word with the pastor when I went home with a canary yellow mohawk!

I studied hairdressing at one of Johannesburg’s finest hair schools, and they offered me a job at the the salon, Terenzo Hairdressing, I got to do product launches, hair shows, and hair for the South African Idols, and although I loved it, I wanted to do more.

Fast forward a couple years, and I’ve moved to London. After a year of ‘settling in’, and numerous emails to my parents, wanting to go back to SA because I haven’t ‘made it’ yet, I’ve decided to actually work at it rather than expect to be discovered.

I met Ruan through Facebook. A fellow South African, he was a photographer looking for a hair/make-up artist, and I was a hairstylist looking for photos. Having never done any formal make-up training before, I did countless tests with him, getting a bigger and better kit, and gaining more experience.

A week after I met Ruan, I met Derek – the guy I knew I’d marry after 2 days. I guess you could say I then knew I won’t go back to South Africa any time soon! He is my wingman, my rock, and although he knows me better than anyone, he still sticks around.

I have worked with numerous other photographers, but the one person who helped me trust in my instincts, and shaped me as an artist, is Kirsty Mitchell. We met through a networking site, and had a big shoot planned. It ended up being a huge series (Wonderland – have a look at site for the back story!) which we’re still working on. Wonderland is getting bigger and bigger, and has touched so many people’s lives, I’m truly humbled by the response, and honoured to be a part of it.

Then, there’s Kat from Rock ‘n Roll Bride. She found me through Kirsty. This girl has guts. She is single-handedly changing the wedding world with her ideas, views, and general awesomeness. So happy to be a part of this movement.

These are just a few people responsible for today’s outcome. Thank you all for shaping me, and believing in me enough that I could do this. I have made lifelong friends in all of you, and I consider myself lucky to have so much support!

Kudos to you if you managed to read all of this.

Tagged , , ,

8 thoughts on “Big, big news.

  1. Wow – fantastic news Elbie – this is the start of something big for you! You hard work has paid off – well done. xx

  2. Lucy says:

    Fantastic news Elbie!! Congratulations!!! xxxxxx

  3. Lisa says:

    You go girl!!

  4. Eliza says:

    So happy for you, Elbie!

  5. So nice to hear your story Elbie. Have worshipped your work through Kat’s site for a long time and so pleased for you taking the plunge. You are a superstar and will succeed without a doubt 🙂 Enjoy it! Xx

  6. Louise says:

    So so extremely proud of you and soooo happy!!! Well done Elbs, ek het geweet jy’s gemaak vir something GREAT!!!! Ek weet sommer dat dit BAIE goed sal gaan met jou!!! Geniet elke oomblik!!!

    xxxxx

  7. layla kolb says:

    checked you out via face book through rock and roll brides “wow” !!!!!! im in ore your work is only what i could only dream of , ive just started out at the ripe age of 38 after years of nursing i decided to do what was truly in my heart MAKE UP !!! im freelance and just have only had weddings and proms but i want more !!! more color more challenge please help i could only hope for the oppertunities that you have already had and worked so hard for ,i love your work and will be looking out for more of your pics in the future GOOD LUCK AND ENJOY XXX

    • Layla, you brought a lump in my throat!

      Practise, and practise, and practise is the best advice I could give you. Do test shoots with photographers, but always work your way up, don’t stagnate. Take risks. Learn from mistakes, but never give up because of it!

      Good luck with your new venture, keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

