Kirsty Mitchell – Virtuoso, Friend

Over two and a half years ago I’ve met someone who would become one of the most important people in my life.  Sitting in Kirsty Mitchell’s living room, she showed me the most beautiful bonkers moodboard and had even crazier ideas popping out of her mouth. I knew I’ve found a creative soulmate, and Wonderland was born. We truly are neighbours in lala-land.

This lady has been through so much in her life, being really ill herself and then having to lose her mother, who was her best friend.  She decided that she would do a series in tribute to the memory of her mother.  (Please read the wonderful interview at My Modern Metropolis, as well as her About section on her website for more about her background)

Working with her has really opened my eyes, and believe that all the fluffy ideas in my head could become reality.  Every time she comes up with a new idea with a spark in her eyes (‘I’m thinking of a teeny tiny girl sitting on top of a giant cake with colours bursting everywhere’ was one of the milder ones) I would have a silent giggle, because I knew that it would be a lot of work, but we WILL pull it off in the end.

Along with her long-suffering (new!) husband and a couple of close friends, we do pretty much everything ourselves.  Making props, painting trees (with not-toxic water-soluble paint, I might add!), getting up at the crack of dawn to help model Katie on to her stilts in the woods, her mixing batches of paint for the perfect colour, the list goes on and on!  Kirsty is the mastermind behind it all, and her background in costume and fashion design ensures that there’s always a way to make the seemingly impossible, possible.  Add to that her sheer determination, and her visions magically become reality.

I love this girl to bits, and I could not believe the response that Wonderland got (published globally, both online and in print), I’m so privileged and proud to be a part of it.  This has changed my life, my self-belief, my drive, and I can’t wait to see what 2012 has in store!  She just quit her job as a full-time fashion designer for a well-known fashion brand, and this year there’ll be much more time to finish the series, promote it, and a lot of other exciting things…

The reason I chose today to write about Kirsty and Wonderland is that after ten months of not publishing ANYTHING, today will see the launch of new pictures.  Head over to her BLOG  for the story behind the new pictures, behind the scenes pictures and more.

Signing off with a few behind the scenes pictures of the Wonderland series, feel free to pop over to her Facebook page for more!

(Georgie likes to help)

Tagged

12 thoughts on “Kirsty Mitchell – Virtuoso, Friend

  1. Laura Caudery says:

    Loved reading this Elbie and can’t wait to see the latest pictures – another one for my wall?! L x

  2. Carolanne says:

    wowzer. that’s all really!

  3. kirsty says:

    ………. ok, you manged to make me cry :) …. can’t believe you wrote this !!! love you so much x

  4. kirsty says:

    duh … ‘managed !! (just woke up ! ) lol

  5. Woooo! You are both amazing.can’t wait to see what’s revealed this afternoon!!

  6. Addie says:

    oh my goodness – Ive been waiting for these to come out forever… so excited! and love the behind the shoot pics!

  7. Sharon says:

    Wow Elbie , you are one clever lady!
    Can’t wait to see more .x

  8. Can’t wait to have a look – this is blowing my mind completely!

  9. It’s such an amazing work Elbie… well done!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

